Mission Statement

The Aspen Hall of Fame was established in 1986–87 to recognize and honor those individuals who have had a significant and lasting impact on the Aspen/Snowmass communities—economically, physically, spiritually, ethically or intellectually. Nominees must have demonstrated inspirational leadership and have made major contributions to cultural, sports, and/or civic activities.

The idea for the Aspen Hall of Fame began in 1985 as the Aspen Skiing Company (ASC) planned a celebration of Aspen’s 40th anniversary of skiing the following year. The concept of the Aspen Hall of Fame was to honor the “pioneers” who dedicated their lives to the development of skiing and to the betterment of our community, as well as to establish a meaningful annual event during the celebration that would live beyond the season of celebration.

The first Hall of Fame committee represented a cross-section of the community, including representatives from the arts council and the historical society, from the ski club and the ski company, as well as 10th Mountain Division soldiers; there was even a member of the first board of directors of the Aspen Corporation, the original name of the ASC. The first banquet was held during the Aspen Skiing Company’s 40th Anniversary Celebration week in January 1987.

The current organization has operated independently of ASC for many years. Each year’s banquet features an awards presentation, introduced by a video profiling the life of each inducteePlease note that due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Aspen Hall of Fame banquet will not be held in 2021 for the first time in the organization’s 34-year history.

Audio recordings by Aspen’s public radio station, KAJX, of the history of the Aspen Hall of Fame may be accessed by clicking here:
Session 1 · Session 2 · Session 3 · Session 4

2019 Inductees: Jon Busch, Dr. Barry Mink, and John Bucksbaum on behalf of his parents Matthew and Kay Bucksbaum

2019 inductees and past inductees who attended 2019 banquet

2017 inductees and past inductees who attended 2017 banquet